AI medical scribes in the UK
What scribes do, the UK options and the NHS guidance on using them safely. Read the scribe guide →
The best practice management software in the UK depends on what kind of practice you run. A solo counsellor needs good online booking and notes at a low price. A physio clinic billing Bupa and AXA needs Healthcode built in. A private medical practice needs prescribing and lab links. We compared Cliniko, WriteUpp, Jane, Semble, Zanda (formerly Power Diary) and TM3 using what each vendor's own website says, with prices checked in October 2026.
All six handle the basics: a diary, online booking, clinical notes, invoicing and reminders. The differences are in insurer billing, AI notes, how pricing scales as you add practitioners, and how each one feels to use, which only a trial will tell you.
From each vendor's own website, October 2026. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it there, not that the feature doesn't exist.
| Software | Best suited to | Published price (checked October 2026) | Insurer billing (Healthcode) | AI notes | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cliniko | Physios, osteopaths, chiropractors, podiatrists and therapists who want a simple, all-features-included system | From $45 a month for one practitioner, $95 for two to five (published in US dollars); unlimited admin users | Not stated on its site | Through connected apps such as Heidi | 30 days; 90 days for CSP, BACP and College of Podiatry members |
| WriteUpp | UK allied health and therapy practices, solo to group | Solo £27.95 a month; Group from £45.95; Flex £19.95 per user; excluding tax | Yes, built in | AI Medical Scribe add-on, £23.95 per user a month | 30 days |
| Jane | Multi-disciplinary clinics, including group classes | Balance £29, Practice £44, Thrive £55 a month (one practitioner included); extra practitioners billed by booked hours | Insurance billing add-on from £10 a month, with Healthcode claims for UK clinics | AI Scribe, £15 per practitioner a month | No free trial; a demo account instead |
| Semble | Private medical practices: GPs, consultants, psychiatry, plus allied health | Price on request (via a demo) | Yes, Healthcode invoicing | AI-powered notes, plus AI scribe integrations | Not stated |
| Zanda (formerly Power Diary) | Psychologists, counsellors, therapists and allied health | Starter £15 a month (one practitioner); Growth £25 plus £15 per extra practitioner; introductory half price for six months | Not stated on its pricing page | Not stated on its pricing page | 14 days, no card needed |
| TM3 | MSK clinics: physio, chiropractic, osteopathy, podiatry, groups and chains | Good £39, Better £55, Best £70 per user a month, excluding VAT | Healthcode integration; Connect for Insurance add-on £10 per licence | Heidi integration on the Better plan | Not stated |
Prices change often and most exclude VAT. Treat these as a starting point and confirm the total for your team size before you sign up.
These two come up together more than any other pair, usually from physios and therapists choosing their first system.
Pricing. Cliniko charges by the number of practitioners and includes every feature on every plan, with unlimited admin users, locations and storage. It publishes prices in US dollars, from $45 a month for one practitioner. WriteUpp prices in pounds, with a Solo plan at £27.95 a month and a Group plan from £45.95, adding £15 per extra user up to ten. Its online booking, video and AI scribe are add-ons or bundles depending on the plan.
Insurers. WriteUpp has a built-in Healthcode integration with documented insurer codes and troubleshooting. We could not find Healthcode support on Cliniko's own site, so if you bill insurers regularly, ask Cliniko directly before choosing it.
AI notes. WriteUpp sells its own AI Medical Scribe (£23.95 per user a month, or bundled into Solo + AI Scribe at £49.95). Cliniko relies on connected apps, including Heidi, which pushes notes into the patient file.
Trials. Both offer 30 days. Cliniko extends that to 90 days for members of the CSP, BACP and the College of Podiatry.
In short: choose Cliniko if you want simple, predictable pricing and everything included; choose WriteUpp if you bill insurers through Healthcode or want an AI scribe from the same supplier.
Jane and Cliniko are often compared by clinics that have outgrown a cheaper system.
How pricing scales. Jane's plans (£29, £44 and £55 a month) include one practitioner, and further practitioners are billed as full or half licences depending on weekly booked hours. Cliniko's price steps up in bands by practitioner count. A clinic with several part-time practitioners should model both, because the answer depends on the rota.
Features. Jane includes group appointments, classes, intake forms, charting templates, outcome measures and one-to-one video on every plan, with waitlists, packages and memberships on Thrive. That makes it a natural fit for a physio clinic that also runs Pilates or rehab classes. Cliniko's strength is that there are no plan tiers to compare at all.
Insurers and AI. Jane has an insurance billing add-on that supports Healthcode claims in the UK, and its own AI Scribe at £15 per practitioner a month. Cliniko leans on connected apps for both.
Trying it. Jane has no free trial but offers a demo account. Cliniko has a 30-day trial.
In short: Jane suits mixed clinics with classes and part-time teams; Cliniko suits clinics that want straightforward pricing and an open ecosystem of add-on apps.
Semble describes itself as a care platform for private healthcare, covering 80+ specialities from primary and secondary care to mental health, allied health and pharmacy. It combines an electronic health record with scheduling, billing (including Healthcode invoicing), lab and pharmacy connections, telehealth and AI-powered notes. It is the most medical of the six, and probably more than a solo therapist needs. Pricing is only given through a demo.
Power Diary renamed itself Zanda in late 2024; the software is the same. Its UK pricing is the cheapest published here: Starter is £15 a month for one practitioner and 1,000 appointments, and Growth is £25 plus £15 for each additional practitioner, with half price for the first six months. It includes a client booking portal, intake forms, progress notes, two-way SMS (charged per message) and telehealth. Its UK site is aimed at psychologists, counsellors, therapists and allied health practitioners.
TM3 is built for MSK practices, from individual physios to multi-site groups. Its Good plan (£39 per user a month) already includes branded online booking, clinical forms, telehealth, reminders and Healthcode integration. Better (£55) adds automations, waiting lists, packages and integrations with Heidi and Mailchimp. Best (£70) adds single sign-on, audit and account management for larger groups. Insurer billing is a £10 per licence add-on.
All six include online booking. What decides whether people use it is where the link lives and what they see when they click. Put it on every page of your website, on your Google Business Profile and in your directory listings, and keep the first step simple: one appointment type, clear prices, and a note on what happens next. If your site makes that hard, our websites for therapists are built around it.
Most personal trainers don't need clinical notes, so a full practice management system can be more than you need. If you mix one-to-one sessions with small group classes, Jane handles both, and TM3 lists gyms and fitness studios among the sectors it serves. Simpler booking tools may suit you better; our guide to getting personal training clients covers the rest of the picture.
Of the six we checked in October 2026, Zanda's Starter plan has the lowest published price at £15 a month for one practitioner, with an introductory half-price period. WriteUpp Flex starts at £19.95 per user and Jane's Balance plan at £29. Add SMS, video and payment fees to compare like with like.
WriteUpp, Semble and TM3 all document Healthcode integration on their own sites, and Jane offers Healthcode claims through its insurance billing add-on. We could not find Healthcode support on Cliniko's or Zanda's sites, so ask them directly if insurer billing matters to you.
If you bill insurers through Healthcode, WriteUpp's built-in integration is the deciding factor. If most patients self-pay and you want simple pricing with every feature included, Cliniko is a strong choice, and CSP members get a 90-day trial.
Yes. Power Diary rebranded as Zanda in late 2024. The company says the software, logins and features stayed the same and only the name changed.
Not on day one, but sooner than most people think. Paper notes and a spreadsheet diary become a problem as soon as you have regular clients, and a system with online booking saves you answering every enquiry by hand. Most of the options above have a cheap one-practitioner plan or a free trial.
WriteUpp and Jane both sell their own AI scribe add-ons, Semble includes AI-powered notes, and Cliniko and TM3 connect to Heidi. Whichever you use, a clinician still has to review every note, and you should complete a data protection impact assessment first.
We don't choose your practice management system for you; a couple of trials and this page will get you there. What we do is make sure people find you and click the booking link: a website built around online booking, a Google Business Profile that sends people to it, and tracking that shows which searches turned into appointments.
Website tiers start with Launch at £449 setup then £39 a month for five pages, with no long-term contract. Marketing retainers for established clinics with a team start from £1,500 a month plus ad spend.
What scribes do, the UK options and the NHS guidance on using them safely. Read the scribe guide →
Pabau, Phorest, Fresha, ANS, Faces and Clinicminds compared. Read the comparison →
Guides for physios, therapists and other practitioners going private. See the guides →
Email us with your website and what you treat, and we will tell you honestly what we would change first.
Email info@evagrow.ai →